

County of Essex. New Jersey

THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

Hereby Issue this Proclamation on August 18, 2020

Proclamation 3

Women's Equality Day

WHEREAS, the Nutley Board of Commissioners recognizes that the pursuit of equality, respect and inclusion for all individuals is an attainable goal; and

WHEREAS, Women's equality is a core civil and human rights principle in the United States and around the world. Across America, women are contributing to our economy and our Nation in innovative and exciting ways. From businesses to battlefields, women are vital to the prosperity and security of our country; and

WHEREAS, no human being should live in fear or face persecution and violence arising from gender or gender identity and all are equal in dignity and right; and

WHEREAS, the Township of Nutley celebrates and encourages diversity, inclusion, and the rights of all women within our community; and

WHEREAS, exactly 100 years ago on August 18, 1920 the nineteenth amendment was ratified by the requisite majority of states to become law; and

WHEREAS, on August 26, 1920, after years of fighting to break down the barriers that stood between them and the ballot box, American women won a victory in the right to vote when it was signed into law; and

WHEREAS, we celebrate the anniversary of this victory that enables our mothers, sisters, grandmothers, aunts, friends and all women, regardless of race, religion, ethnic origin or color to equally participate in this civil liberty that was denied to them for far too long; and

WHEREAS, as we celebrate 100 years of this historic moment, the Nutley Board of Commissioners are committed to the belief that we are all entitled to equal treatment by supporting policies that help all women succeed and thrive and we recognize that much work still needs to be done in this area.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Nutley Board of Commissioners hereby proclaims the 26th Day of August 2020 as Women's Equality throughout the Township of Nutley.

Mauro G. Tucci	Joseph P. Scarpelli
Mayor	Commissioner
Alphonse Petracco	Thomas J. Evans
Commissioner	Commissioner
John V. Kelly III	

Commissioner